comment 1 Comment
Posted on Last updated

Harris English cleared of ‘cheating’ after 60-minute investigation

PGA Tour pro Harris English was put on full blast by some golf fans on social media after a rules incident during the third round of the Charles Schwab Challenge.

English eventually posted a level par round of 70 at Colonial Country Club to sit at 9-under par, one behind joint leaders Adam Schenk and England’s Harry Hall after 54 holes.

But things could’ve been worse for English, who this week had the most nonchalant response we’ve ever seen to a hole-in-one.

The moment transpired on No. 2, the 384-yard par-4 and at the time English was three back of Hall.

Playing a short pitch up the green, English bruised the turf nicely but the ball failed to check and gave him a tricky putt down the hill.

His golf ball came to rest on the fringe of the green.

As English was taking his practice strokes, he could be heard saying that he saw his ball move.

Hot mics picked him up saying the ball moved at least two dimples.

What made the moment trickier was that English addressed his golf ball and then backed off.

“My ball keeps rolling that way,” he said over the ball.

His caddie stepped in as English sought advice from his playing partner Hall, who stated that ‘if you do [cause the ball to move] in the general area then it is deemed your fault’.

If he didn’t replace it, then it’s a two-shot penalty Hall said. A lengthy discussion transpired with the tournament referee.

Footage from Sky Sports had the commentators convinced the ball moved just a tad.

Rules analyst Mark Dusbabek told Sky Sports that the tournament official asked English the correct questions.

“There wasn’t enough evidence to show that Harris had caused the ball to move therefore if you don’t have that virtual certainty it is moved by natural forces and you play it from its new position,” he said.

Added Nick Dougherty on Sky Sports: “That saved his bacon there.”

Despite the initial ruling, it was confirmed that the moment was under investigation. Around 60 minutes later, English was ‘cleared’.

That didn’t stop some fans from offering their thoughts and some were convinced he had been dishonest.

“Harris English just cheated at Charles Schwab on #2. Please watch video and assess proper penalty,” one person wrote, tagging the PGA Tour.

Another added: “The ball moved when he set the putter behind the ball not during practice stroke as he claimed. He should’ve been penalized.”

“Harris English’s description of this situation to the rules official seemed… uh… favourable to Harris English,” another said.

Another described the situation as ‘fishy’, adding: “So is the PGA Tour just going to ignore the fact that Harris English just lied to the rules official?!”

Article originally appeared on:

1 thoughts on “Harris English cleared of ‘cheating’ after 60-minute investigation

  1. blank

    Where do you get the “cheating” in your story?? He called in an official for help and went with his verdict. Which was accurate, unlike your title!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *